Local Sports

Monday, February 04, 2013

MAL wrestling: Carey wins third straight league title

Staff Writer

NORTH BALTIMORE -- Saturday's much-anticipated 195-pound Midland Athletic League championship match between North Baltimore's Dalton Ishmael and Tiffin Calvert's Daniel Kwiat ended the way no one wanted it to, with an ambulance ride to the hospital.

Ishmael was called for an illegal move on the edge of the mat late in the first period and Kwiat was unable to continue the match giving the Calvert senior the win by disqualification and the 195-pound MAL title, his fourth straight league championship.

The match was a scoreless deadlock when Ishmael, a two-time MAL champ, locked his hands behind Kwiat and tossed him to his back for an apparent takedown with 23.7 seconds left in the second period.

The officials waved off the takedown and gave Kwiat, who laid motionless on the edge of the mat, a penalty point after determining Ishmael's move was illegal.

After using his 2 minutes of recovery time, Kwiat was unable to continue.

After 15 or 20 minutes, Kwiat was taken away on a stretcher and transported to Bowling Green's Wood County Hospital by ambulance for further medical attention.

He was transferred late Saturday to Mercy St. Vincent Medical Center in Toledo. He had surgery on his neck Sunday morning and is expected to make a full recovery, though he won't return to the mat this season.

Ishmael was disappointed at the outcome of the match but concerned about Kwiat's condition. He stood nearby and said a few words to Kwiat as he was taken to the ambulance.

"It's disappointing because I wanted to have an undefeated season," said Ishmael, who picked up his state record 145th pin in the semifinals and is now 32-1 on the season.

"I wasn't purposely trying to do an illegal move or anything like that, I was just trying to get a takedown and score.

"Hopefully, we'll see each other again and we'll get another chance to wrestle each other."

Carey, meanwhile, won its third straight MAL title for the first time in school history.

Brayden Leist (132 pounds), Tyler Higgins (138), Cody Ferguson (152), Lincoln Stansberry (182) and Jacob Moran (285) won individual titles for the Blue Devils, who topped Hopewell-Loudon 158-129 for the team championship.

"We knew Mohawk and Hopewell-Loudon would challenge us today," said Carey coach Ryan Pratt. "All five of our seniors placed and we got some wins today that avenged some losses earlier this season. All in all we're pretty excited because things are going in the right direction."

Things appear to be headed in the right direction for Hopewell-Loudon, too.

Coach Travis Traxler's Chieftains ended up winning five individual titles.

Zac Hrabak, a sophomore who missed virtually all of last season with a dislocated elbow, seems to be hitting his stride as he captured the 160-pound class.

Alex Brock took the 126-pound title and Damian Vitt denied Fostoria St. Wendelin's Cole Williams a shot at winning his third MAL crown with a 9-7 overtime win in the 120-pound finals.

Mohawk's Grant Price was picked as the MAL's Most Valuable Wrestler.


1, Carey 158. 2, Hopewell-Loudon 129. 3, Mohawk 93. 4, Tiffin Calvert 56. 5, Seneca East 51. 6, Lakota 50. 7, Fremont St. Joseph 49. 8, North Baltimore 37. 9, Fostoria St. Wendelin 12.


106 -- Shook (SE) pinned Kuhn (TC), 2:54.

113 -- Brodman (TC) tech. fall Swartzmiller (H-L), 16-0.

120 -- Vitt (H-L) dec. Williams (FSW), 9-7, OT.

126 -- Brock (H-L) pinned Tolento (Lak), 3:12.

132 -- Leist (Car) tech. fall Vasquez (FSJ), 16-1.

138 -- Higgins (Car) dec. Bickford (Lak), 9-7.

145 -- Hoerig (Moh) dec. Brodman (Car), 8-2.

152 -- Ferguson (Car) maj. dec. Clouse (H-L), 15-4.

160 -- Hrabak (H-L) tech. fall Kelbley (Moh), 15-0.

170 -- Price (Moh) pinned Mullholand (Car), 1:36.

182 -- Stansberry (Car) tech. fall Lucius (SE), 18-2.

195 -- Kwiat (TC) won by disqualification over Ishmael (NB).

220 -- Durbin (FSJ) pinned O'Flaherty (Car), 2:59.

285 -- Moran (Car) pinned B. Bankey (NB), 1:07.


106 -- Somers (H-L) won by forfeit.

113 -- Draeger (Lak) won by forfeit.

120 -- Dyer (Car) won by forfeit.

132 -- Lonsway (Moh) pinned Veres (SE), 1:31.

138 -- Magers (H-L) pinned Landrum (SE), 1:45.

145 -- Myers (H-L) won by forfeit.

152 -- Hammond (Moh) pinned Schoen (SE), 4:40.

160 -- Tschanen (Car) dec. Jaso (Lak), 2-1.

170 -- Arriaga (Lak) pinned Park (FSW), 1:49.

182 -- Bustillos (H-L) pinned Turner (FSW), :52.

195 -- Widman (FSJ) pinned Sauber (Car), 4:33.

220 -- Mullins (Moh) pinned D. Bankey (NB), :21.

285 -- Hossler (H-L) pinned Flanagan (Lak), 4:35.

Baker: 419-427-8409,


Subscribe to The Courier.