Local Sports

Wednesday, February 27, 2013

Girls Basketball: Unbeaten Ottoville claims top honors
Unbeaten Ottoville has swept the Putnam County League girls basketball top honors.

The Big Green's Abby Siefker was named the PCL Player of the Year while Dave Kleman was tabbed as the coach of the year.

Siefker, a 6-foot-2 junior who is headed to Bowling Green State University, averaged a double-double as she led Ottoville with 17.0 points and 11.7 rebounds per game.

Kleman guided the Big Green to their second straight unbeaten regular season as Ottoville rolled up a 21-0 record.

Other players on the first team include Continental's Paige Ordway, Leipsic's Amber Gerdeman, Miller City's Melissa Michel and Ottoville's Rachel Beining.

Gerdeman, a 6-1 junior forward, averaged 12 points and 10.9 rebounds per game for Leipsic while Michel, a 5-10 senior forward, tossed in 17.8 points and 11.9 rebounds per game.

Beining, a 6-foot senior, scored 11.9 points and added 39 blocked shots for Ottoville.

No stats were available for Ordway.

First Team

Paige Ordway, Continental; Amber Gerdeman, Leipsic; Melissa Michel, Miller City; Abby Siefker, Ottoville; Rachel Beining, Ottoville.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR -- Abby Siefker, Ottoville.

COACH OF THE YEAR -- Dave Kleman, Ottoville.

Second Team

Macy Schroeder, Fort Jennings; Jackie Gardner, Kalida; Haley Gerten, Leipsic; Nicole Vorst, Ottoville; Megan Maag, Pandora-Gilboa.

Honorable Mention

COLUMBUS GROVE -- Sydney McCluer, Samantha Stechschulte. CONTINENTAL -- Leva Weller, Taylor Williamson. FORT JENNINGS -- Ashley Gable, Gabbi German. KALIDA -- Amy Smith, Summer Holtkamp. LEIPSIC -- Shalynn Morman, Kelly Nadler. MILLER CITY -- Haley Lammers, Brandi Gerschutz. OTTOVILLE -- Rachel Turnwald, Taylor Mangas. PANDORA-GILBOA -- Vanessa McCullough, Keri Conine.

Scholastic Awards Team

CONTINENTAL -- Hannah Baker, Leva Weller, Krystle Prowant, Vanessa Koppenhofer. FORT JENNINGS -- Gina Stechschulte, Gabbi German, Macy Schroeder. KALIDA -- Amy Smith, Kristi Honigfort, Julia Vandemark. LEIPSIC -- Kendra Gerten. MILLER CITY -- Melissa Michel, Brandi Gerschutz. OTTOVILLE -- Rachel Turnwald, Rachel Beining, Abby Siefker. PANDORA-GILBOA -- Ashley Williams.

Subscribe to The Courier.