Local Sports

Saturday, November 09, 2013

MAL Football: Carey's Powers, Worst receive special awards
TIFFIN -- Carey's Bryan Powers and Todd Worst took home two of the Midland Athletic League's top honors when the conference announced its 2013 all-MAL football team.

Worst, 62-24 in his eight seasons at Carey, was named the MAL Coach of the Year after guiding the Blue Devils (7-3, 6-1 MAL) to a share of the league title, the school's first since 2009.

Powers shared MAL Specialty Player of the Year honors. A junior running back, Powers was sixth in the league in rushing (864 yards), caught 21 passes for 414 yards and five touchdowns, led the league in kickoff returns (32.6 ypr) and scoring (26 TDs, 158 points) and was third in punt return average (15.8 ypr). He intercepted two passes as well.

Quarterbacks Matthew Holsinger of Carey and North Baltimore's Lane Bishop and running backs Cody Malone of Hopewell-Loudon and Mohawk's Gunnar Johnson, landed a spot on an all-MAL first-team offense that featured eight backs, three linemen and three receivers.

Jonson led the MAL in rushing with 1,617 yards and was third in scoring (17 TDs, 104 points). Holsinger threw for 1,330 yards, rushed for 569 and accountd for 19 total touchdowns. Malone rushed for 1,156 yards and 17 TDs.

Bishop adapted well to a new spread offense. The North Baltimore junior completed 161 of 346 passes for 1,775 yards and 15 TDs and rushed for 959 yards and seven scores.

Two of Carey's anchors on the offensive front, senior guard Jacob Goble and junior center Brady Mullholand, were also first team.

Carey's Anthony Blair, a senior end, and safety Jared Wentling (3 interceptions) were first first-team on defense along with two Mohawk players, linebacker Eric Maskey (2 INTs) and defensive back Mitch Parker (3 INTs.). Hopewell-Loudon's Weston Hill was a first-team defensive lineman.

Carey had five second-team selections in running back Brandon Zechman (481 yards, 7 TDs), senior linemen Kyle Swartz and Will McCahon, linebacker Zach Boes (5 ints.) and defensive back Satchel Strahm.

Hopewell-Loudon quarterback Derek Runion (1,800 yards, 14 TDs passing), receiver Jordan Stewart (39 receptions, 692 yards, 6 TDs) and defensive back Eli Tooker were second-team along with Mohawk linemen Devon Fredritz (offense), Arin Mullins and Bryan Schube (defense), and North Baltimore receiver Brandon Solly (27 recps., 468 yards, 4 TDs).

Powers shared specialty honors with Tiffin Calvert's Mike Smith. Seneca East quarterback Ethan Caudill, who threw for 2,852 yards and 32 touchdowns, was the MAL Offensive Player of the Year. Corey Durbin of Fremont St. Joseph took home top defensive honors.

First Team Offense

BACKS -- Tyler Long, Tiffin Calvert, jr.; Bryan Powers, Carey, jr.; Matthew Holsinger, Carey, sr.; Marcus Kerr, Fremont St. Joe, sr.; Gunnar Johnson Mohawk, jr.; Cody Malone, Hopewell Loudon, sr.; Ethan Caudill, Seneca East, sr.; Lane Bishop, North Baltimore, sr. LINEMEN -- Austin Perry, Tiffin Calvert, sr.; Jacob Goble, Carey, sr.; Brady Mullholand, Carey, jr. RECEIVERS -- Donovan Stith, Tiffin Calvert, jr.; Mike Smith, Tiffin Calvert, jr.; Adam Hall, Seneca East, sr.

First Team Defense

LINEMAN --Marcus Somers, Tiffin Calvert, sr.; Anthony Blair, Carey, sr.; Corey Durbin, Fremont St. Joe, sr.; Weston Hill, Hopewell-Loudon, sr. LINEBACKERS -- Mitch Depinet, Tiffin Calvert, sr.; Bennett Weickert, Fremont St. Joe, sr.; Eric Maskey, Mohawk, sr.; Alex Sheiber, Seneca East, jr.; Andrew Ferree, Lakota, soph. DEFENSIVE BACKS -- Dan Reineke, Tiffin Calvert, sr.; Jared Wentling, Carey, jr.; Jake Yeckley, Frmeont St. Joe, jr.; Mitch Parker, Mohawk, sr.

OFFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Ethan Caudill, Seneca East.

DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Corey Durbin, Fremont St. Joe.

SPECIALTY PLAYERS OF THE YEAR: Bryan Powers, Carey; Mike Smith, Tiffin Calvert.

COACH OF THE YEAR: Todd Worst, Carey.

Second Team Offense

BACKS -- Austin Ball, Tiffin Calvert, sr.; Brandon Zechman, Carey, sr.; Derek Runion, Hopewell Loudon, jr. LINEMEN -- Devon Fredritz, Mohawk, sr.; Matt Iannantuono, Tiffin Calvert, jr.; Cameron Felter, Tiffin Calvert, jr.; Kyle Swartz; Carey, sr.; RECEIVERS -- Hunter Harrison, Fremont St. Joseph, sr.; Jordan Stewart, Hopewell Loudon, sr.; Jack Raymond, Lakota, sr.; Brandon Solly, North Baltimore, sr.

Second Team Defense

LINEMEN -- Will McMahon, Carey, sr.; Nick Militello, Fremont St. Joe, sr.; Arin Mullins, Mohawk, jr.; Bryan Schube, Mohawk, sr. LINEBACKERS -- Zach Boes, Carey, jr.; Josh Waggoner, Seneca East, sr.; Owen Best, Seneca East, sr. DEFENSIVE BACKS -- Adam Recker, Tiffin Calvert, soph.; Satchel Strahm, Carey, jr.; Matt Fox, Fremont St. Joe, sr.; Eli Tooker, Hopewell Loudon, sr.

Honorable Mention

TIFFIN CALVERT -- Aaron Englehart, sr., Drew Ritzler, soph. CAREY -- Zach Sauber, sr., Levi Smalley, jr. LAKOTA -- Jordan Smith, sr., Dakota Bowling, fr. MOHAWK --Logan Stillberger, sr., Tyler Baird, sr. NORTH BALTIMORE --Zach Meggit, soph., Zach Stewart, sr. SENECA EAST -- Cory Depinet, soph., Cole Felter, jr. FREMONT ST. JOE -- Ryan Williams, sr., Mitchell Gonya, sr. HOPEWELL-LOUDON -- Ryan Lommerse, jr.; Zack Clouse, jr.

Subscribe to The Courier.